Daily Archives: March 3, 2014

Same Yarn. Two Different Blankets

Here’s an example of what happens when two of my friends use the same baby bedding and color scheme. The first blanket was my standard (re: boring!) nine square granny square pattern. The second blanket, made 18 months later, was a more fun, chevron pattern.MH2

I wanted to make sure that both blankets match the bedding but looked completely different and unique. At this point, I was  comfortable making granny squares all of the blankets I was making were starting to look the same. It was time for something new.

MH3

For both blankets, I used Vanna’s Choice brand yarn, which was great for warm, cuddly blankets without them being too heavy. Same yarn, same hook, but with two different patterns, these are definitely two very different blankets.

JO

I think it’s fun to experiment with different patterns for blankets. It’s amazing to me that both blankets have a totally different look and feel even though they’re made with the exact same yarn and same size hook. Here’s the link to the pattern for the chevron blanket. I think Lion Brand does a great job with all of the free patterns that they have on their site. You just have to create a username and sign in to see them.

I tend to make at least 3 blankets of one pattern before I go in search of a new pattern, just to make sure I’ve mastered any new stitches. With the granny squares, it was the concept of putting multiple stitches into one space and skipping other stitches altogether. With the chevron pattern, it was the dc3tog, for decreasing stitches, which creates 1/2 of the chevron pattern. And with each new concept or stitch learned, I start to feel more and more like I actually know how to crochet.